Gifts, Trophies and Awards

You have no items in your shopping cart.
The Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup Celebrates 100 Year Centenary

The Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup Celebrates 100 Year Centenary

From humble beginnings to a global spectacle, discover how the Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup marks its 100th year of thrilling horse racing history.

The Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup Celebrates 100 Year Centenary

As the Cheltenham Gold Cup approaches its centennial anniversary, and as the official trophy supplier to Cheltenham Racecourse the Inkerman team will take up residence in the trophy room, just above the winners enclosure for the duration of the festival.  The team ensure the winning owner, trainer and jockey trophies are presented for the right race, we also look after all the perpetual trophies owned by the racecourse along with make replicas of those for owners to keep and cherish the memory of their winning moment.  The event stands as a testament to the enduring appeal and grandeur of steeplechase racing. Since its inception in 1924, the Gold Cup has not only been a platform for the finest horse racing events but has also woven itself into the fabric of sporting legacy, celebrating human and equine excellence alike.

This year, as we mark 100 years of thrilling races, legendary winners, and pivotal moments in jump racing history, the anticipation surrounding the centenary celebration speaks volumes about the race's significance. The Cheltenham festival has evolved into a cornerstone event of the horse racing calendar that captivates a global audience, embodying the spirit of competition and the pursuit of greatness.

As we stand on the brink of this historic milestone, one can only wonder what memorable stories and defining moments the forthcoming race will add to the rich tapestry of its past.

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is a prestigious Grade 1 National Hunt horse race that takes place on the New Course at Cheltenham Racecourse in England. The steeplechase covers 22 fences over a distance of approximately 3 miles and 2½ furlongs.

The first race actually took place in 1819 as a flat race, but the centenary is celebrating the first steeplechase held on 12 March 1924. And the first on the new course was in 1959.


The Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup

When is the Gold Cup 100?

The much-anticipated centennial celebration of the Cheltenham Gold Cup, known as Gold Cup 100, is scheduled to take place on the historic grounds of Cheltenham Racecourse on Friday, March 15th, 2024 at 15:30, marking a momentous milestone in the esteemed history of this prestigious racing event.

With undoubted excitement around the paddock and in the stands, Gold Cup Day promises to be an unforgettable festival of jumps racing. As competitors and spectators alike count down the days, the anticipation of witnessing the next winner clear those iconic fences builds.

As the anticipation grows for the clash between the seasoned champions and the emerging stars, eyes will be on Galopin des Champs who will be aiming to retain the coveted trophy after the 2023 victory.

Presented to the winner will be the original trophy from 1924, first  awarded to winner Red Splash. It's weighs 644 grams of nine carat gold and is plated in 18 carat gold, mounted on a plinth bearing the names of every horse to have won the famous steeplechase.

This event isn't just about the trophy and the £625,000 winnings; it's a testament to a century of champions, a celebration of the enduring spirit of Cheltenham, and an invitation to be part of a legacy.

History of the Gold Cup

Spanning over almost a century, the Cheltenham Gold Cup has emerged as a pinnacle of jump racing, reflecting not just the evolution of the sport but also encapsulating the dreams and aspirations of jockeys, trainers, and equine athletes alike.

This storied racecourse in England has been the stage for the most thrilling chapters of National Hunt racing, witnessing the birth of legends and the crowning of champions.

Every March, the steeplechase unites thoroughbred enthusiasts in a spectacle of skill, courage, and determination. Betting odds buzz amidst the crowd, as anticipation builds for the next horse and jockey to etch their names into the annals of history.

The Gold Cup remains a testament to the enduring allure of horse racing, celebrating the spirit of competition and the quest for excellence.

Legendary Winners

Legendary winners of the Cheltenham Gold Cup, including icons like Golden Miller (5 consecutive wins 1932-1936) and Arkle (3 wins 1964-1966), have not only triumphed in the race but also etched their names indelibly into the annals of equestrian lore.

These equine athletes, guided by masterful trainers from Ireland and beyond, have cleared every jump with grace, showcasing the epitome of skill and determination. Their victories have resonated deeply within the hearts of spectators who witnessed the majesty of this race.

As these champions galloped across the finish line, they did not just win a race; they became legends, forever a part of the rich tapestry that makes the Cheltenham Gold Cup a celebrated event in the world of jump racing.

The most successful trainer is Tom Dreaper with 5 wins, including all of Arkle's iconic wins.

Memorable Races

Over the years, the festival has played host to a multitude of races, but the Cheltenham Gold Cup always captures the imagination of fans worldwide, weaving a tapestry of unforgettable moments and thrilling finishes.

From Dawn Run's heart-stopping victory in 1986 to Best Mate's historic hat-trick of wins from 2002-2004 with jockey Jim Culloty, each race has contributed a chapter to the storied legacy of this prestigious event.

Perhaps most famous is the 2008 race when horses Denham and Kauto Star took centre stage, both trained by Paul Nicholls.

One of the most popular horses to win the Gold Cup and make the roll of honour was Desert Orchid, won the event in 1989. And Lord Windermere was a popular winner in 2014 at 20-1.

Nortons Coin's shock win in 1990 at odds of 100-1 stands as a testament to the unpredictable and exhilarating nature of the sport.

But Irish jockey Rachael Blackmore deserves a paragraph of her own, becoming the first female winning jockey in the Gold Cup in 2022, riding favourite A Plus Tard to a stunning 15-length victory. 

In 2021 though, she accomplished two significant milestones at the Cheltenham Festival. She made history as the first female jockey to ride a winner in the Champion Hurdle, guiding Honeysuckle to victory. Additionally, she secured the Ruby Walsh Trophy for leading Cheltenham jockey by finishing with six winners throughout the four-day event. It was a great year for her as she also became the first female winner of the Grand National on Minella Times.

With each passing year, the Cheltenham Festival has risen to new heights, drawing in crowds of eager spectators who gather to witness the pinnacle event of horse racing: the Cheltenham Gold Cup. These memorable races have not only defined careers but have also fostered a sense of unity and belonging among enthusiasts, solidifying the Gold Cup's position as a cornerstone of the racing calendar.

 The Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup

Leave your comment